30.06 Rifle Hunters

What grain bullet do you use?  168 grains here with the Winchester Silver Tip Ballistic.  Just curious about bullet weight, I used the mentioned brand simply because it's what was available the day I bought the rifle, was itching to shoot it and I got upsold by the clerk.  I use it still (7 yrs and counting) since my gun is sighted dead on with it.  Again, interested in weight and why.

I am new to rifles. Always carried my 12 and got the job done, but.. times change. I carry my 30-06 mainly during deer season and shoot Federal Fusion 150 grain. My shots are not umpteen million yards away, pretty much 100, or less. Why this? I was new, I saw the box, and bought it. Readily available where I hunt as well, I have never not seen it on the shelf. My gun shoots well with it.  I am seriously contemplating changing to a low recoil shot, either purchased or hand reloading though now.  Fairly certain these are 125 grains. Why this? Shoulder issues and the way I shoot, no reason to shoot something that strong.

• Like 1

I have a handful of 06's. For some reason the 7400 and Browning A-Bolt shoot the Fusion 180's better than anything I've ever come across or loaded. The two bolts with 24" barrels (700 and Vanguard) will shoot the same hole all day long with 150's. The Rem 700 I use hand loaded Nosler BT's in. The Vanny is Fed Fusion again. It's just a super accurate round for a fair price.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I shoot 180gr bullets. When i was doing my initial search of 30-06 I saw that the 180gr had the most kinetic energy then all the other grains. 

Kinetic energy doesn't kill animals...Tissue destruction does., especially if it is in an area with a lot of blood vessels, like the lungs.

Your 180 grain bullet most likely blows through the deer most of the time, expending a good share of it's kinetic energy on the landscape beyond.