Pros vs. Cons of Oats, Clovers, Corn, Beans for Bow Season

What the's best return for the effort/investment in your book for a bow season food source (plot wise) in October and November for a single variety?

Corn is nice, especially when it's not around the area. But, it's also very labor intensive. Same with beans, and there's some downtime from yellowing to late winter attraction. Oats can draw in big, but can peter out with a frost pretty quickly, leaving not much around in some years. Clovers pretty much the same thing - seems like you get a week or two of draw at the start, and then it drops off fast as deer move elsewhere.

Obviously natural browse and mast are a factor, as are location, and a billion other inputs. But, push comes to shove, what's the best bang for your buck and time? I have limited experience with oats - some but not much - and oats seem intruiging to me. I know they don't seed well without covering, but some people report they have luck with it. Corn has been king in my area, but with so much of it in prior hunting locations, it has never been planted as a food plot, and it's too labor intensive for my preference from an implement, time, and cost perspective.

By far bang for the buck is clover, mix it with some winter rye,or wheat. So that the grain is only about 4 in tall come middle of October and clove 4 to 6 inches tall as well ,I cut my clover down to 4 inches 2 weeks before opener so it's all new fresh growth.

Edited by G-Man

By far bang for the buck is clover, mix it with some winer rye,or wheat.

For bow season? That's what I am specifically looking at. While clover maintains some draw in bow season, I see utilization drop like a rock after about mid-Oct.