Woodleigh bullets anyone?

Jaeger

Does anyone have any experience with Woodleigh bullets?

I have been loading them for about two years and had only one experience with them on game.  A small doe with a 200gr PP out of a .338 Federal running at about 2650mv.  Complete pass through, good wound channel and short jump/run. 

Bullet was not recovered.

In target and load development, I pick them out of the dirt bank and, even after hitting rocks, most expanded well over 50%.  Soft and expand easily.

The really cool thing is that they really held together!  I've been getting about 187.5grains average recovered weights!

They are also very accurate for a hunting bullet.  As posted elsewhere, that load runs right about 0.347 c-t-c for 3 shots at 100yds off the bench.  (I measured  wrong when I reported 0.477 in a previous post, the outer edge to edge is .785 and I subtracted .308 not .338).

Any way, I know they are a little expensive, but not the most expensive bullets.  I guess I just like they are from Australia.

p.s., their new loading manual, from Midway, is great.

Load the round nose conventional solids for 375H&H.

I have used them on tiny antelope to good success. Buried one in a Buffalo and it could be reloaded. LOL

I have some 9.3 PP to load but haven't had the time. I frequent a forum with many AU members and they get fine performance on game with them.

I have never used them, but they have an excellent reputation for performance on game.

I currently run Barnes X , TSX and TTSX for all my hunting loads in the 3 rifles that I use the most, a 7mm08, a .280 Rem, and a 9.3 x 62.

• Like 1

• 1 month later...