Anyone else hunt in 6C???

fu2lmao

• 2 weeks later...

Great, glad to chat with someone that knows the local area, I am just beginning to know the region myself, beautiful country, the 2hr ride is well worth it every time I visit my farm, was there 2 weeks ago scouting and practicing my archery skills, had an accident with a crossbow and almost lost a finger 2 weeks ago, typing with one hand at the moment, would you happen to know anyone local familiar with QDM etc? as I am hoping to learn and develop my oasis

• 4 weeks later...
  • 3 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...

We are practically neighbors, Talcville is pretty close to me, agree with you on the deer population, cant beat the scenery though

When we first built the camp in 2000 we had deer everywhere.  Everyone saw deer on at least opening day.  Now I can go an entire N. Tier rifle season and not even see a doe unless we put on drives.  I would love to know what happened or what changed.

When we first built the camp in 2000 we had deer everywhere.  Everyone saw deer on at least opening day.  Now I can go an entire N. Tier rifle season and not even see a doe unless we put on drives.  I would love to know what happened or what changed.

Most of us up here are in the same boat.  2000 was right around the peak of our deer population. A little better down in the farmlands, but over all we probably have 10 -25% of the deer that we had in 2000.. Of course many will say this is purely anecdotal.. B)

Contributing factors are the harvest of too many does.

Imho.... Due to the increase in muzzleloader hunters(inlines and scopes greatly increase hunter #s)   capable of shooting does, introduction or increase in dmps( I do not remember any being available up here much before the late 90s), hunter education to the fact that it is ok to shoot does(I remember when no one would shoot doe, 3 bucks were ok but don't shoot a doe), Destroy permits on the farmland wiped out herds(legally and illegally)