DEC Check in station

Lord of War

So I have been hunting rocky point and I understand that starting Nov 1 I will have to go to the dec check in station in order to park.  I have never done this before and just wanted some clarification on what this process is.  Do they just give you a parking permit?  is it for a specified spot?  Being new I just want to know about it before I go.

I haven't been out there in years but you used to have to line up early for passes because pheasant season opens and there will be alot of them. You will need a reservation on weekends that you get by calling Monday morning before that weekendThis is the process from the last time I hunted there. They didn't give specific parking spots then, you could park in any open spot but had to stay on that side of the road. Good luck

Daily Access Permit Procedures for Hunting Rocky Point and Otis Pike

From November 1 through December 31, all hunting on Rocky Point (except spots nos. 7A & 25) and parts of Otis Pike (parking spot nos. 1 through 12, 14 and 15, 17 through 22 and 36, 37, 39, 40, 44, 45, 49, 50 and 52) is by daily access permit only. Daily access permits can be obtained at the Ridge Hunter Check Station.

Non-holiday Weekdays

Monday through Friday, daily access permits are issued on a first-come, first-served basis. Daily access permits are issued 45 minutes before sunrise for archers and waterfowlers and 15 minutes before sunrise for small-game hunters. On weekdays, hunters arriving before the check station opens must park in numbered parking spots in front of the check station according to the order of their arrival and must sign the list at the check station window to ensure their place in line.

Day-Before Reservations for Archery and Waterfowl Hunters