Newbie from Westchester and Schoharie Counties

Dawn9142

Hello,  My name is Dawn. I'm very new to the hunting scene, but not new to using a bow or a fire arm.  I'm looking to obtain my NYS hunting license this summer. This way I can start my first hunting season this year.  Any websites or help would be greatly appreciated.

• Like 1

You should get a watershed access permit since you live in Westchester. NYC owns large patches of land (reservoirs, etc) used to supply their water needs. They allow hunting and fishing on some of these lands. The permit is free.

Westchester is bow only.

http://www.nyc.gov/html/dep/html/recreation/recreation_rules.shtml

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

You should get a watershed access permit since you live in Westchester. NYC owns large patches of land (reservoirs, etc) used to supply their water needs. They allow hunting and fishing on some of these lands. The permit is free.

Westchester is bow only.

Thanks.  I will do this now... since it's free.   :D  

Westchester is bow only.

Wow!!!  That was fast.  One step down.  Now I need to work on obtaining a valid New York State hunting license.  

Thanks again.

• Like 1

Just make sure you read the rules and regulations for the watershed lands.  Each area have allow certain freedoms and restrictions.  Still, they're pretty good and not overly crowded in some cases.  Plus, if you live in Westchester, many are within a few minutes drive for you.

Welcome to NY and welcome to the forum.  Best of luck to your season.  We might even bump into one another on a watershed land.

Welcome Dawn and good luck this upcoming season :hunter:

Thank's Greg. 

Just make sure you read the rules and regulations for the watershed lands.  Each area have allow certain freedoms and restrictions.  Still, they're pretty good and not overly crowded in some cases.  Plus, if you live in Westchester, many are within a few minutes drive for you.