Why did you buy a crossbow?

Five Seasons

Simplest answer; because I wanted one.

I've bowhunted for years with a vertical bow, but I kind of wanted an xbow before it became a legal hunting implement in NYS. The allowance of it in archery season a couple of years back gave me the green light - justification wise.

This is the third year of carrying it, and I haven't taken a deer with it yet. Passed plenty, but haven't pulled the trigger.

I'm kind of a gear junkie. I didn't have one, so I needed one, right?

ps.  she didn't know I was buying it, but I didn't hide it from her either. She bought me a soft sided case for it a few weeks later for an early Christmas present.

• Like 2

I have been hunting with compounds for many years and killed loads of deer. Wanted something different (transaltion, wanted a new toy). To me they are fun to shoot and liked the idea of a different implement to kill deer.  I have to be honest, they are heavy to carry and awkward to hold but are deadly accurate out to 50 yards (atleast mine is).

• Like 5

28th year of bow hunting , several years of impinged shoulders , bone spurs and frozen shoulder , went from shooting 30 arrows to not being able to draw once .

I figured a crossbow would still let me hunt the rut . Mine was very close to one thousand  dollars with all the fixings .Honestly cost was not even a factor , we're at a good place financially , which is why is odd to includ it  given the wide range of folks here .

• Like 3