Moving to Rome

FallAir

Hello all.  I am being stationed in Rome this coming may.  I am originally from Western PA and have spent some time in NY, but never hunted there.  I've been hunting for going on 22 years now.  I'm a big archery hunter and got into flintlock hunting the last few years.  My family practically eats venison only all year round, so it's a way of life for us.  Anyways, I'm really excited to get there and look forward to trying to get into the woods.

1 hour ago, FallAir said:

Hello all.  I am being stationed in Rome this coming may.  I am originally from Western PA and have spent some time in NY, but never hunted there.  I've been hunting for going on 22 years now.  I'm a big archery hunter and got into flintlock hunting the last few years.  My family practically eats venison only all year round, so it's a way of life for us.  Anyways, I'm really excited to get there and look forward to trying to get into the woods.

Welcome aboard and thank you for your service. NY gun laws suck as for the hunting.....some bases let you hunt. When I was stationed in Little Creek Va, I hunted in fort AP Hill. Good luck either way!!

Thanks everyone. Couldn't be happier about the assignment. I have no idea where I'm going to hunt yet, but I'll figure something out I guess. I'm not afraid to venture off the beaten path or knock on doors.  Really the most excited to enjoy the area with my family.

• Like 1

Lewis county has a lot of northern tier areas avail ( just north of Rome) . Deer hunting is ok there and they have a decent bear population too.  But you are right along the edge of northern and southern tier. I live about 20 minutes from Rome. Also if you like to fish, lake Delta is loaded with some serious smallmouth and Oneida lake is of course a great walleye spot and also bass and perch.