total newbie

Artemis

Hi everyone,

New to the site and new to hunting. I didn't grow up in the woods or with hunting as a part of my family. Trying to learn all of this as an adult is daunting. I hope to glean some useful information from the site to lessen the learning curve.

Edited by Artemis

Welcome! Glad that you found us! There is a whole lot of useful hunting information here at your fingertips. And a bunch of really good people and hunters, who will be willing to help you over the learning curve. Best of luck to you in all your future hunting endeavors. 

The best learning you can do is be out in the woods for hands on experience. Everyday you'll learn a bunch

I'm not so sure about that. I went out on Friday morning and all I've learned so far is

1.) I need a better system for keeping my toes warm. I had to go in early because I couldn't take the pain any more. Maybe I'm just a wimp. 

2.) I need warmer pants. My legs were pretty cold too, which probably didn't help the feet. As a skier and ice climber, I'm use to being outside in pretty frigid weather and generally know how to dress for different conditions. Of course, in both of those sports, I'm generally MOVING and that makes quite a bit of difference. 

3.) I need to eat before I go out to stoke the internal fire. Lack of food = cold. Didn't matter that I eaten a ton the day before for Thanksgiving. 

and the biggest lesson I learned.... 

4.) I don't have a flipping clue what I'm doing. I'm not expecting that every time I go in the woods I come out with some thing, but geez, I saw nothing but squirrels. At what point do you have just a bit more faith that you will see something and what point do you decide this spot is not worth it and move on? 

Maybe that does classify as a "bunch" of lesson learned. 

• Like 3

Patience young grasshopper