Peanut earl questions.

Bionic

So as you all know I bought a deep fryer a little over a month back.  I have only used it twice.   Firat night, onion rings, and chicken wings.  Approximately a week, or two after I made another 20 wings in it.  I keep the earl right in the fryer, in the basement.   The earl has a fat layer on top from the wings obviously.  In this case, is the oil safe for use? Im not against using it, if its going to have an acclimated taste of chicken....however, if it is now rancid from fat, I would discard...

I am new to all this.

The oil was first used around March 12th...so about a month old since its first use.

Any input, and guidance woukd be appreciated 

May answer would be  that it would be fine..

FOR SURE, no pathogens  could survive once you reheat the oil to 325 or higher, so  I would say it is not dangerous...

The only issue would be flavor, and if I were you I would let my nose be my guide....Kinda like dating in my younger days  ...Hehehe..

• Like 1
  • Haha 4

You may have to remove the top layer on yours as it was unfiltered Check the label on the cooking oil container to see whether the manufacturer has included any tips on storing the particular type and brand of oil. Though most food-grade oils are generally stored the same way, some may have more specific storage requirements or a longer shelf life than others.

Let the oil cool to about room temperature after turning off the heat. Once cooled, drain the oil through a cheesecloth to remove any bacteria. Pour the strained oil into a glass jar with a metal lid. Tightly seal the container and store in a cool, dark, dry place at room temperature, or in the refrigerator if you live in an extremely hot climate. The oil may appear a bit cloudy after some time in the refrigerator, but it should become clear again once it reaches room temperature.

• Like 2

14 minutes ago, G-Man said: