Otto's Food Plots 2018

This is my first attempt at a food plot. I know I am about 2 weeks off the schedule, but that's how it is. Sprayed with roundup last week. Looks like it has done its job!

I will scrape off the dead grass next week and then disk it up, drag it and then seed it with red clover. I may throw in a bag of food plot mix I found in the barn. I think I bought it last year.

fb4fb109c55a103af00047e069d9f3d1.jpg

ae0389c616e19d565340a33ca4a72c79.jpg

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

• Like 6

its still planting time but if you want an active plot this year add a cerial grain or brassica to clover seed.. clover is slow growing and will take 2 years to fill in and grow like it should. 

if you scrape of grass you can skip the disking for clover and brassica. just roll after seeding . the disturbance by removing grass will be more than enough 

Edited by G-Man
  • Like 3

1 hour ago, G-Man said:

its still planting time but if you want an active plot this year add a cerial grain or brassica to clover seed.. clover is slow growing and will take 2 years to fill in and grow like it should. 

if you scrape of grass you can skip the disking for clover and brassica. just roll after seeding . the disturbance by removing grass will be more than enough 

I couldn't agree more, other posters including myself had luck with rye and wheat with clover and it grows very easily.

Personally, I don't know what you mean by "2 weeks off schedule".  For brassicas, perhaps but brass will do just fine a little later.

Clover?  You are actually about 3 weeks early in my opinion.  If brassicas were your main goal then I would still plant it.

If clover or grain is your goal then I think you are still 3 weeks early.  Labor day is the time for clover grain.

But good damn job on the spray.  If it looks like that after one week then I need to start using what you are using  ;)

40 minutes ago, LetEmGrow said: