Crossbow Broadhead Question

Don_C

I finally decided to get a crossbow!  I have zero experience with them, but managed to sight it in quickly and am planning on hunting with it next week.

My question is – Can I use regular NAP Spitfire Broadheads in a crossbow? I have read in many different places that there is no difference between the crossbow version and the regular version of this particular head. If anyone here shoots them you know they are very tight and do not open easily, so I somewhat believe that is the case. Can anyone confirm or comment on that? I have a few packages of these heads and am a big fan, I don't want to spend another $45 on heads if I don't have to, and  I can't find them locally.  I did email NAP so maybe they will get back to me. Any input is much appreciated.

Edited by FatBoyD

Several stores sell NAP broadheads pretty cheap. Not sure if the difference is there or not, but xbow heads usually have a shorter ferrule or changes to prevent opening due to the increased force demand. This head might be the same, but not sure you'd get clear info on that.

I also prefer broadheads that provide practice heads. I hate using a real head to practice with and on those you either rneed to tie shut using dental floss or similar...or waste bands.

I have never hunted with NAP, but bought a pack of the Shockwave Spitfire version for my bow. 1 1/4 in cut. I bought them for "doe stands" and was able to take one this year using the BH. It did a great job and was very comparable to my Grim Reapers which are hard to find and usually at full retail price. I think I got these NAPs for $20 and a $10 rebate on it...very work it.

I also zipped a beautiful red fox on Saturday with one. He went all of six feet from hit site. I don't think they'd do as well as Grim Reapers on bone or quarter shots - the GR design is much better.

Edited by phade