My custom M1 carbine hunting rifle

Way back in the summer of 1980, just after I graduated college, custom rifles were all the rage. After reading a book on customizing rifles by T.L. Bish,(https://www.hillcountrybooks.com/products/keyword/%20care) I decided my Plainfield Machine M1 Carbine needed to be gentrified. I spent the better part of that summer doing the work in my back yard. (Got a great tan that summer) The rifle was completely polished, tuned, smoothed and reblued. I added Williams sights, a front ramp and a rear peep. The bolt was jeweled and a Fajen mannlicher walnut stock was also worked from a rough semi finished piece. It was fitted to the rifle when it was completed. She's a hunting rifle with the 5 round mag, but still works as my home defense rifle and will still shoot a 30 round mag without fail. It shoots into a 2" group at 100 yards all day long. It wasn't a collectible M1 to begin with, so no harm done to it's value. Some may not like it, but I love it.  The pictures show how it looks, with one added to show how it used to look.

My30Carbine 001.JPG

My30Carbine 004.JPG

My30Carbine 006.JPG

My30Carbine 007.JPG

AM1.jpg

Edited by Rattler
  • Like 12

A beautiful rifle Rattler! I love the sporterized look of it! So cool that you've had it all these years, and still take it hunting. Do you have a pic with it laying on a deer?  

This is surely a rifle to pass on to a son or daughter one day. To continue making memories.

• Like 1

14 hours ago, Rattler said:

It does hunt well.  It's short and light and quick on target.  Shots within 50 yards have plenty of power to take down a whitetail.  Great fun when just out for a walk in the woods.