HELP! New to muzzleloaders

Hunter9396

So I just got my first muzzleloader ever. It’s a traditions buckstalker xt combo with scope. I have no experience with muzzys ever and this is all new to me. I usually only rifle hunt. My question for you guys is how do I go about sighting it in? The scope is 3-9x40 scope.. how far do I start sighting it in from? The manual tells me the gun is accurate up to 200 yards.. but I don’t know how far I should fight sight it in for. Thanks in advance 

I'd start at 25 yrds. You can take the breach plug out and look through the bore at a target, then the scope to see if it's "close". Adjust as necessary. Then move out to 50 and dial it in. Once dialed in at 50, you should only need to raise the POI at 100yrd+.

What powder, bullet do you have? 

Do you have a bullet starter? Definitely a helpful tool. 

Edited by mowin
  • Like 2

47 minutes ago, Hunter9396 said:

So I just got my first muzzleloader ever. It’s a traditions buckstalker xt combo with scope. I have no experience with muzzys ever and this is all new to me. I usually only rifle hunt. My question for you guys is how do I go about sighting it in? The scope is 3-9x40 scope.. how far do I start sighting it in from? The manual tells me the gun is accurate up to 200 yards.. but I don’t know how far I should fight sight it in for. Thanks in advance 

I sight in for your average shot distance.   And I use loose powder as it allows for greater accuracy.    On average 50 cal start with 50 grains of powder to get you on paper at 25 yards move back to 50 and work on your left and right. Don't worry about height yet if your a little low.  Once you get left right set you can increase by 5 grains which on average will raise point of impact 1 in.   You find your max efficiency when you hear a loud sharp crack when fired with minimal smoke and no flame out the barrel.. some guns shoot great at 85 grain, some 90 or 95 or 100 or 105 or 110 .. every gun is different.