JabzXtreme

New Long Island Hunter

Hello fellow LI Hunters,

I see there is no active online community for Long Island Hunters, if you know of one please tell me! This post may help like minded googlers find their way.

I'm Shaun, I'm 30, and I live in Suffolk and I'm a beginner to intermediate  experienced small game public land hunter. Before I came to NY, I was hunting Small Game and Wild Hogs in Florida and we had a very active public land community that got together for hunts or just became online hunter friends who shared their experiences. I hunted for Shotgun Deer a few times but no luck so I'm a real newbie Deer hunter and I only have a crossbow so Archery's out for me right now.

I guess I'm just looking to meet some people, either here online or IRL if we fancy one another's company. I'm a lonely hunter as I lost my mentor when I was very young. So I'm a research hound - I'm a techie guy and I learn everything I can from hunting shows, magazines, books, online communities and friends, youtube,  google earth, etc.

So this'll be my first year hunting in Suffolk Public Land, primarily for Small Game - Squirrels, Rabbits, Woodcock, Pheasant, possibly Turkey. I'd love to hook up with some folks to show me some Waterfowl or Geese Hunting, or even Deer or introduce me to Archery. As I'm new to the lands anyone looking for a buddy to explore and learn some woods with would be cool.

I also know the deal with Small Game guys and Archery guys preferring to hunt apart, so I hope not to step on any toes and hope the check station would distribute parking spots accordingly.

I'm not new on Public Land, just here on Long Island :).

If you have anything you'd like to chime in with feel free or send me a PM!

Thanks for reading!

Edited by JabzXtreme

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content