Help with 12

beachpeaz

I have been hunting a 150" + 12 point for 3 years now.  Unfortunately, I have been too busy the last 3 seasons to hunt with my muzzleloader tag.

I have hunted this deer both Bow and "Regular" season, again, for this is the 3rd year in a row.

I cleared my schedule this year to hunt the week of Muzzleloader in hopes that his patterns change enough that I get a glimpse of him.

For the past 3 seasons, I have not seen him once while hunting.  Of all the trail camera pics I have of him from the past 3 seasons, I have a whopping 3 in daylight hours.  This deer is very nocturnal and seems to crawl into some deep dark hole on my hunting property as soon as hunting kicks in.  I have a GENERAL idea of where he beds and where he eats, but based on the cameras I have set up, his range is HUGE (camera's are 1.2 miles apart at the far ends and he is on both of them).

I know once the rut is over and the season winds on, the deer only have 3 main concerns, Food, Rest & Safety and they can become even more nocturnal.

For those of you who have been very successful hunting this late season hunt, what have you seen and done?  And tips and / or suggestions?

would you be more inclined to hunt the food source or the bedding area or somewhere in between (again, keep in mind the large area we are talking).

this deer is keeping me up at night now.  I don't ever post things like this on here, but I am getting desperate for any new insight that I may be overlooking.

Thanks for any replies!

Edited by beachpeaz

I take it your daylight photos of him are late season in MZ?

How do you know he's there in MZ?

The large buck we were chasing covered more than 2 miles based on game cam pics taken of him in rut. Typically late season may see a shift in locale based on the the food/safety aspect. Does your ground offer the food or the bedding with food just nearby?

I take it your daylight photos of him are late season in MZ?

How do you know he's there in MZ?