flintlock Long rifles

erussell

Anyone know of a good flitlock longrifle builder in NY or PA that is close to Binghamton NY? I am going to start setting Money aside to  commision someone to build me a good flintlock. I am looking at either a Lancaster, a Reading Longrifle or a Poorboy Barn Gun. I have no experience with a longrifle, just inlines, so any advice on what to look for in a good gun would be helpfull. Has anyone ever had anything built by Gobbler Knob Longrifles in Montrose PA? They seem to be the closest I have found so far.

the best advice I could give you is to ook for a good lock.  Dont skimp on it. Syler is a good one. If there is no spark, the rifle is no good.  Also make sure the flash hole is lined up well.  Also look for a one piece stock for a long rifle.  Using a flintlock is much different than an inline. It requires a lot of meticulous care and  TLC. I would recommend going and shooting one to see what is involved before you go in so deep for something you might not have a liking for.  I have a flintlock I use for special muzzleloading season.  I tworks well, but as stated takes a lot of work to make it do so. 

Using a flintlock is much different than an inline. It requires a lot of meticulous care and  TLC. I would recommend going and shooting one to see what is involved before you go in so deep for something you might not have a liking for.  I have a flintlock I use for special muzzleloading season.  I tworks well, but as stated takes a lot of work to make it do so.