Broome County Upland/Duck Hunting Areas?

Diogenes

Hi all! I'm ne to the HuntingNY forums. I have a question and I'd apreciate if anyone can give me some advice.

I'm Currently a student at SUNY Binghamton. I live in the actual city of Binghamton (scary place)  :fie:.

I don't go to the bars a lot and I'm terrible at picking up girls, so I'd figure I might as well go hunting on the weekends in October and get the most out of the Lifetime Hunting License I just bought.
I do most of my hunting in Orange county. Where are the spots for upland/duck hunting in Broome? I'v looked at the DEC site, but I've only found some basic info.
I'm looking for public land about an hour away from where I am, Cortland is just 45min away and Whitney Point is a good 25-30min. I've visited Whitney Point once or twice to go fishing in the spring. I hear they stock pheasants there.
I know there are some federal lands nearby, but I would not meet their strict requirements.
I also hear there are some spots along the Susquehanna, but I'd figure it would be too deep to retrieve my ducks, since I don't have a dog.
I'm still very new to hunting as I just started last season, my dad has taught my most of the basics.

Any info would greatly be appreciated.

I live in the actual city of Binghamton (scary place)  :fie:.

You don't need to tell me that, I work there and live in a neighboring village. Are you in campus housing or do you rent from a private owner? Our company manages many student rentals in Bingo.

Yes the city is a rough place, just listen to the police scanner on a Fri./Sat. night. It's crazy! All the more reason as to why I keep my gun rack on the wall next to my bed. Hopefully the new mayor will clean the city up.