Hunting Trip 2013

Arrowhead

Sorry for the long post in advance but what would a good question be without a good story.

So i have been hunting bow and gun for 3 years now and this year i got my first deer, a nice 6 pointer. I got to share the experience with my father and it was awesome! Two of my friends were asking me all about hunting and one got into bow this year. We started talking about going out together for gun season and basically that snowballed into "lets cold weather camp while we hunt". So that was back in August and we all went out and bought zero degree sleeping bags and pads and heavy thermals, etc. We were all prepared and so we went the last weekend of southern tier gun, Dec. 7-9. We stayed at Bear Spring Mtn campground. It was an awesome time except that it rained the entire time and if it wasnt for a 10x10 canopy tent we would have been screwed. We had a 3 season tent which worked but wouldnt have been great if temps really dropped. Anyway, we didnt see anything but had some great meals, deer stew being the best. While we were shoveling stew down our throats we got to talking about making this an annual trip.

We all agree that if we wanted that then a few things would have to change. First is that we would need a 4 season canvas tent. You know, one of those big ones we could put a stove in. So my first question is what do you guys recommend? I know Cabelas sell a version but i wanted to hear what you guys think or if you have other companies you use. Theres 3 of us but we may swell to 6.