Comments On Region 4 Hunting Season

shenders

I cant complain, my family has always done well in 4f. One of us usually score. This year was exceptional, I took a 3 ptr. with bow and an 8ptr. with rifle, my uncle took an 8 ptr. with rifle, my dad took a 3 ptr. with rifle and my friend took a doe with ML. In between we saw some other bucks and lots of does. My cousin on another property that was close by took an 8 ptr.

I have been hunting in 4F for the past 10 years and I have never experienced such a lousy season.  Don't get me wrong, I had a great time during the season but as far as deer go, it was total crap.

Only saw a handful in bow and a few small does in rifle.  The rut was real slow this year and never really seemed to happen.  I saw some chasing but it was very sporadic.  Could never get a read on what was going on, and when.

Always next year.

I agree with you that the rut never really seem to take off.  I spoke with a couple of friends of mine in other section and the seem to disagree. I saw more deer while bow hunting then I did rifle. But nothing like last year or the year before. I think in the next years to come I have to plant some food plots to attract more deer and hold them on my property.

Hunting 4G for 6 years and every year seems to get better, weve taken some nice bucks and the locals have taken some true monsters,and theres a B.C class buck that made  through another hunting season,hopefully he crosses my path next year!

I agree with you that the rut never really seem to take off.  I spoke with a couple of friends of mine in other section and the seem to disagree. I saw more deer while bow hunting then I did rifle. But nothing like last year or the year before. I think in the next years to come I have to plant some food plots to attract more deer and hold them on my property.