Getting power to camper

Mustang51js

I have a small camper setup and I would like to get power to it. I was told that I have to install a pole since the power is on the other side of the road. Does the power company install poles if I buy the pole,I am an electrician so would do the service myself. Also does anyone know who to call about the power,I am in Montgomery county next to sharon springs. Thanks for any help

Mustang51js, on 23 Jan 2014 - 1:18 PM, said:

I have a small camper setup and I would like to get power to it. I was told that I have to install a pole since the power is on the other side of the road. Does the power company install poles if I buy the pole,I am an electrician so would do the service myself. Also does anyone know who to call about the power,I am in Montgomery county next to sharon springs. Thanks for any help

If its a new service to the property, the power company is responcible to supply one road crossing pole that they install.

You'll need to put in an application that'll be on the companies web-site for what you are doing (size of service etc). You can get a site meeting with a rep where you can talk about options of locations and what you'll need on your end.

with our home...the power company had to have a pole at the road...then several yards from that we have our own pole..1/2 pole that the line goes to and their meter sits on...Then our line is buried from there to the house....any thing from the road to your camp is your responsibility ...as far as repairs...Our line melted just before the house and we had to have it found ...dug up and repaired....will be reinstalling a whole new underground service ...the original owner didn't do the best job...but that was years ago and it was originally a summer "camp"......The new service will be underground from their pole to the house on the reinstall...

Edited by growalot