New to fishing

dirt_a_KISS

This season I want to get more serious about fishing for the upcoming months. I have very little knowledge of the sport and would like to know more. And what I mean is this, whatv pole should I use, line, lures and etc? All comments will be helpful for me to know what I'm getting myself into, so thank you!

This season I want to get more serious about fishing for the upcoming months. I have very little knowledge of the sport and would like to know more. And what I mean is this, whatv pole should I use, line, lures and etc? All comments will be helpful for me to know what I'm getting myself into, so thank you!

Need a few more details. Fish species you may go after, in a boat, from the shore, etc.?

I have spent a lot of time fishing, no clue if it is done the way It is supposed to be done , but I catch fish and have fun  :)

• Like 2

IMO don't go crazy on the expensive rods...i buy mid level walmart rods and have had good luck. Just put new line on them...as far as lures and bait I prefer live bait for most part minnows worms crayfish all depends on what your looking to catch...lures spinners (rooster tails) top water and divers are the basics all work for each own situation.

• Like 1

A 6 foot medium action spinning rod is a good all around rod. Get a decent quality reel (the guy in the fishing Dept. SHOULD be able to help you choose one)  spool it with 8lb. line.  Lures all depend on what you're going for, but different sized Rapalas and spinners are a good bet. Other than that,,  worms, minnows and good old bobbers.

• Like 3

Yes, a 6- 6.5' medium action pole with 8-10# test has served me we well for just about everything..Personally I have always preferred the longer rod to facilitate a longer cast.  Maybe an ultra light pole for going after crappie,panfish,and trout.