Elevation Sickness

mac

hey guys just wondering about hunters experiences out west with elevation sickness. please share your good or bad stories. Include the are of which state, what you were hunting , and how long you hunted and if you went out days before the hunt to acclimate. or took diamox. seems like below 6-7000 feet isnt too bad and can get worse from there. Thanks

I have a lot of experience out there. My Uncle lives in Boulder, Colorado. The first day out there it can be tough to catch your breath if your running around, etc. Boulder is like 5,400 ft. When we head up into Estes Park and get to 12,000 - 13,000ft it can be a lot tougher to breathe. Some people get naesous, I never do, but it is tough to catch your breath even just walking up stairs at that elevation, and I am in good shape.

Most recently, I hunted in the Southern Arizona mountains at 4,000-8,000ft. The first day was pretty rough trying to catch my breath, but then again we did 13 miles on foot as fast as we could to follow the dogs (chasing mt. lion). After the first day I felt better adjusted and had no problems going forward.

In October, I am going to Buffalo, WY for a Mule Deer/Antelope hunt. This area is about 5,000ft. I am flying in the day before to have time to sight in rifles, etc. I think this extra day will also help with breathing.

Not sure where you live, but I am coming from pretty much 0ft. elevation.

Edited by Biz-R-OWorld

My only experience with altitude sickness came in Peru. I was at altitudes of 12K. Worst constant headache, nausea, had trouble breathing. I never adjusted. Funny because I fairly athletic but you have elderly couples who adjusted and were walking about just fine. It's disheartening to watch a 60 year old man walk circles around you while you're dying.