coyote calling tips please

just got a FoxPro patriot and was wondering which calls you guys use and how long and such. probably gonna just do early mornings and late evenings to start because I don't have any night gear yet. plus one of the spots I plan on going to is a cut corn field right behind some neighbors houses and I don't think they would appreciate gun shots in the middle of the night. plan on doing some night hunting down there eventually but gonna have to go way back in the woods. I have no experience predator hunting so any help would be appreciated. haven't seen any foxes on this property but there is at least 1 bobcat down there. would love to get one of them. lots of coyotes though. thanks

• Like 2

I am not a big time varmint hunter so this is not an expert's advice but over the years I have dabbled with the Varmints and have had some moderate success. I keep my calling relatively simple,  I do no calling at night, all my calling is done during daylight hours mostly with mouth blown calls, where in addition to Varmints I have had Hawks, Owls Crows and even have had Deer come in to the calls out of curiosity I would guess. I would say 15 minutes is about the average time I call at a set.

I basically use three calling sounds 99% of the time, for long range various dying Rabbit sounds, the more agonizing sounding the better, a Squeaker or Squirrel whistle for short range and a dying Woodpecker which is mostly for Coons but it has brought in Foxes on occasion and even a Skunk once.