MY Favorite Rifle

When I was a kid the landscape in NY was a bit different than it is today. I grew up in the country and half of all my friends lived on family farms. Farms were everywhere and that meant there were hay fields and where there were hay fields there were Woodchucks and back then lots of them. I remember well the very first one I took, I was hunting with a friend with my single shot open sight Savage 22 which I think was a model 120. This Savage had to be cocked by pulling the rear of the bolt cocking piece after a shell was chambered. Anyhow we spotted a Chuck out in a hay field and I crawled on my stomach to about thirty yards, the Chuck stood up and I took and made the shot and the kill. I became instantly obsessed with those critters.

As I got a little older my Dad started letting me use his Winchester 61 in 22mag which increased the killing range quite a bit over my 22. After a couple of years I graduated up to Dad's Sako 222 and I was pretty much in heaven with that rifle. I put away a lot of Woodchucks with that gun and out to 275 yards or so it was deadly, I also shot my first Buck with that rifle.

Well when I was old enough to get a decent job and earn some money I finally purchased my first Varmint rifle, a used in good shape Remington 700 ADL in the then fairly new factory 22/250. That baby added an easy 100 yards to the kill zone and I took full advantage of it's longer range.