NY to spend $28M to create statewide gun permit database

The ignorance continues. These buffoons can't stabilize the economy and continue wasteful spending. They cut school aid and spend money on this sh**. I have a great idea cut 28 million from social services for this program. Let the weak perish. This country needs a revolution as I have stated years ago in here. Sorry I'm a little piss**d. LOL

"The database is a key element of the state gun control law adopted in January, a month after the Newtown, Conn., shooting."

Yup, now there is an act that surely would have prevented the Newtown Connecticut shooting. What a bunch of blithering idiots! These legislators who proposed and voted for this crap have to be punished. They deserve to lose theri jobs. It's up to us to see to it that that happens during the next round of elections. And when that is done, we need to each write them a letter explaining just why that happened.

I build databases for a living.  I have build DB's for many of the largest companies out there.  I could build this handgun DB for less than $500,000. ...but I won't. what the hell do they need 28 million for?

ha-ha .... It gets to be a whole different realm when you are dealing with the unlimited souce of taxpayer wealth. budgets for such things have no standards of reasonableness. When it comes to an administration that takes pleasure in trashing the Constitution, why would we expect them to be concerned about financial restraint.

Put it this way a 10 million name database with transactional data (such as a major sporting goods retailer uses) would cost about $500,000 to $1 million.  About 5 to 10 cents per name.  This database would have append demographics (age, income, education level, ect...).  the NYS handgun DB would basically be a excel spreadsheet with names, address and types of guns, ect.... I reduce my quote..I could outsource this to India and get it done for about $50,000...or China and get it for about $30,000.