newpeep site

f3cbboy

Hi -  I am new to bow hunting and the rubber tubing on the peep on a 3 month old bow broke and i just got it replaced. Do i need to re-sight the bow?  My shotsare off to theright and a littlelow about3 inchesat about15yds.  I think i answord my own question..

No tube peeps are nice but you risk the chance of them turning and not getting a clear picture thru them. Usually they work better if the string is well broken in.New strings tend to turn until they stretch and are broken in. 3/16 diameter is a better size for low light conditions which we all know is when most deer movement occurs.

No tube peeps are nice but you risk the chance of them turning and not getting a clear picture thru them. Usually they work better if the string is well broken in.New strings tend to turn until they stretch and are broken in. 3/16 diameter is a better size for low light conditions which we all know is when most deer movement occurs.

I agree, you never want to take a new string/peep into the field, though once your bow is tuned properly and broken in, peep rotation should never be a problem.

I went tubeless many years ago and there is no comparison. If you get good strings your peep will not rotate if installed correctly, 50 shots should be enough to break in a new string although I went without a peep last hunting season after installing new strings and still shot four deer. I put the peep back on before this season and groups are tighter.

If you have a good bow string on your bow, you shouldn't see any peep twist.  I have put 60x strings on my bow and only started to notice peep turn after about 5000 shots.  The tube peeps are great for beginners who don't have the knowledge to fix the problem themselves or have the time to take it to a pro shop.    

You can get a little kit at wal-mart made by allen. It cost like 10 bucks and has the tube you need in it. You will not have to re sight your bow after putting that tube back on.