TC Encore ML setup

WNYBuckHunter

Hey guys, I have a chance at a 50 cal ML barrel for my Encore. I was told it is a 209 barrel and does not have the speed breech. The price seems pretty good, but I am just not sure if this barrel is a good one or not as I have zero ML experience. Id like to hear from someone with more ML experience and what their thoughts are. Thanks.

If it's a T/C barrel and can accept 209 primers I wouldn't have any reason to think it wasn't good unless the barrel was abused or not taken care of by the prior owner.  T/C makes good products and I surely wouldn't worry that it doesn't have one of those newer easier to remove breech plugs.  It will most likely shoot just the same.

My uncle has a T/C Encore muzzleloader and is no doubt a good gun, but it surely weighs a lot more than other muzzleloader out there these days.

How much is he asking?. I have and encore and the old style breech. As long as you lube ti I have never had a problem spinning it out. Let's face it....you remove it to clean it and hw much extra time are you spending to spin it out. the breech plug is a 7/16" so when I have it on the bench I use a rachet with an extension and is makes very short work of it. I keep my 2 piece wrench in my possibles bag incase I ever have to remove in the field but in 3 years I haven't had to.

is it from an encore or the pro hunter? I do want to get the power handle rod though. makes loading much easier. I think the prohunter barrels came with it standard.

If you can get both go for it.I have not killed a deer with the ML yet.But I do enjoy shooting it.I like to fire 3 shots and clean the barrel,My gun is about an inch high at 75 yards.Maybe this well be my year.By all means if it is a good price go for it.