Canning Venison?

RemingtonChevy

Hi I'm pretty new to hunting and was wondering if anyone has experience canning venison meat.  I want to do this but was wondering how long venison can last if canned, what do you use, how do you do it, etc.  I know there are probably some sites on line but was just wondering if anyone has experience doing this....thanks !

Just a hot water bath canner? for meat? The temps can't get high enough to kill all the little critters running around in there.  At 10psi the temp inthe canner is around 235. You can't get over 211 in a water bath.

I have also heard of of guys doing them on a cookie sheet inthe oven and canning applesauce by just pouring the boiling sauce in and putting the covers on without boiling. To me when you are dealing with stuff that can really mess you up like canning and reloading, I will error onthe side of the book. lol. Not a fan of bowing to the porcelin god

Yep, they do it just like when they can tomatoes. Don't know the specifics, as to how long they let it boil or anything. Maybe those extra "critters" just make you stronger? LOL

Had some tonight. Was awesome. Canned pint jars with a quarter of a small onion. A Clive of hot garlic(home grown). A half tsp of canning salt and a half tsp of crushed red pepper. Raw pack and canned for 75 minutes

I just bought a book on making sausage.  After reading it it sounds like a real pain in the azz.  Maybe the author is just being cautious but man does it seem like a time eater...........Canning sounds like it might be up my alley?

I'll check out the unit CHC is using.  Any other suggestions to canners?

Had some tonight. Was awesome. Canned pint jars with a quarter of a small onion. A Clive of hot garlic(home grown). A half tsp of canning salt and a half tsp of crushed red pepper. Raw pack and canned for 75 minutes