NYS pistol laws

Doc

The only requirement I have heard was you have to list it on your pistol permit to hunt with it and then only single shot 45 or 50 cal. I believe CVA makes an inline that is legal to hunt with. I don't think you could carry it loaded without a permit and having it listed but that's just my guess. They have changed the law recently to hassle law abiding people and accomplish zero to hurt their protected class, you know felons.

• Like 1

Back when I worked in the gun buying and selling business one could buy a black powder handgun without a permit. It could be done because of museums and gun collectors that owned these guns never have any intention of loading and firing them, also there was no records of any such weapons being used for holdups or shootings.

Actually firing and using one was a whole different matter, if there was any intention of firing the gun or using it for hunting it had to be on a permit, you could not possess the firearm along with caps, balls-bullets and powder.

That was then, what we have today I do not know for sure, especially with this Governor we have now.

Al

On 12/26/2023 at 11:55 AM, airedale said:

Back when I worked in the gun buying and selling business one could buy a black powder handgun without a permit. It could be done because of museums and gun collectors that owned these guns never have any intention of loading and firing them, also there was no records of any such weapons being used for holdups or shootings.

Actually firing and using one was a whole different matter, if there was any intention of firing the gun or using it for hunting it had to be on a permit, you could not possess the firearm along with caps, balls-bullets and powder.

That was then, what we have today I do not know for sure, especially with this Governor we have now.

Al