Scopes?

Paulie

Guys,

Any help would be appreciated. I have a CVA Optima 45 cal and for the past 3 yrs have been hunting with open sights. (I figured that if I was hunting with a primitave weapon, I might as well be as primitive as possible and not scope it) Well, I love shooting it and I think i may use it dring the shotun season as well so I want to put a scope on it. I bought one of those starter packages at Gander Mountain (you know everything you need to shoot all in one!) Well I got a great deal as it was miss marked. I think the whole package was $200 or 250ish and It was marked $100 so no complaining there.....I just can't justify paying more for a scope then i paid for the gun and whenever i look in the Cabela's catalog that is what i would be doing (maybe that is just me).....do you have any suggestions on a good scope that will hold up and is realitively inexpensive? I have been hunting for almost 20 years and never bought a scope...all my guns have been handed down in the family...so i really have no idea about scopes...really all i know is they were on the gun and they still work, so i shoot them (I know, that's bad!!) My longest shot would probably be 100 yards.....What do you think? Any Suggestions?

Thanks again!

well just because you got a deal which 100 bucks sure is, the package was worth at least twice that much, which in my books raises the value of what you can put in a scope. My generic advice has always been get the best scope you can afford. Nikon pro staff is a great scope for around 125 bucks. Or a redfield revolution (which is now made by leupold) I do not think you can go wrong with a good bushnell either. I look at it as I can buy a low end scope now and buy another in a couple years or just buy a good one the first time. The amount of magnification is a personal choice. I have 3x9x40, but honestly it is rarely over 4 power.