Any help?

Doc

Those of you that reload your own ammo, how many of you had help getting started, I'm talking about hands-on experienced help showing you all the steps while sitting right next to you? How necessary do you think that kind of help is?

I had a brother-in-law that had been reloading for years give me a hand with equipment selection and processes and analysis of results. I know it is all right there in the books, but it really turned out kind of good to have somebody there to make sure that nothing is being interpreted wrong or forgotten or just plain being executed improperly.

I did have a buddy show me the ropes.  I wanted to get into it for a long time, but was concerned about the little things you don't get from the guides/books.  He really  helped me with setting up and what to watch out for.

Even helped me build a loading bench that is a comfortable work height for me.

I was basically self taught, I had nobody to show me the ropes when I got started in fact back in those days I don't think I even knew of anyone that reloaded. No doubt hands on experience would have been the best way to go had it been possible.

I bought three different loading manuals and read them cover to cover before I made my first equipment purchase from the old Parker Distributors outfit that was in New Rochelle. I still have that equipment and still use it today even though it is just about 50 yrs old now, when you buy good quality stuff it lasts. Over the years I have added quite a bit of equipment for the loading room and just picked up another new press a few months ago, for me it has been never ending but I love it.

Al

Edited by airedale

I had help as close as a phone call away..........the rest was on my own.  There was no such thing as the internet then either, heck I don't think even Al Gore had dreamed up the WWW in 1991.

I'd talk with my buddy quite often and read all I could then on the subject while experimenting.  (still have all my digits and eyes too)