Stand Location - Opinions Appreciated

moog5050

After walking the 45 acres I was given permission to hunt this year, I finally decided on a stand location and set it up yesterday. That said, I would appreciate your comments as this is my first year hunting. I plan to try both bow and shotgun. The following is a description of where I placed the stand. Feel free to let me know if you think I made a mistake. My decision was based on lots of reading, but no real world experience in hunting in upstate NY.

Wind is predominantly from the West, so I set up on the East side of the property. Stand is in a huge Oak next to a dry river bed with a large deer run right under the tree going west/east. It also intersects with two more deer runs within 30 yards or so, running diagonally north/south to my east. There is a small food plot on the property to my West in a clearing out of the woods maybe 50 yards and then others to the east of me on property that I do not have permission to hunt (150 yards or so - that may be the reaons for the large deer run running west/east). Without having much experience, I think it’s a pretty good spot and open enough to bow hunt it, although I do plan to return Friday to clear a few branches that open up the intersection of the runs a bit. I am hesitant to clear too much, but dropping a few small branches would give me a clearer shot to that area. Without being able to see the land, any big errors in choosing the area I described to you?

There are quite a few deer tracks on the property in general and some recent droppings. The creek bed had some tracks, but they appeared to be older tracks, but the run under the stand is pretty large. To top it off, there was a peregrine falcon in the trees above the stand area, just hanging out the entire time we set up. I suspect he has a nest nearby. Not sure if that means anything other than he likely hunts that area himself.