My Plots 2013

I figured since this is my first year really doing some plotting, I would share it with you guys partly for gaining any advice, and partly for others to take a look at.

First, here is the layout of the part of the property we are dealing with. Its all labeled for the most part. The only thing of real significance not shown is a smallish bean field  south of the large hay field. Some years its in corn.

Plots1_zps2c6ac5e4.jpg

So a quick rundown, Plot 1 was partially brush hogged last year, and then expanded this year, it was a mess of scrub brush. Plot 2 was first brush hogged 4 years ago, same with Plot 3. Plot 2 was never planted, Plot 3 was planted the year before last in Brassicas and Turnips with a bit of clover. Plot 4 was just hogged out this year and was a mess of scrub brush. The 2 future plots will be hogged out shortly, but wont be planted this year. If you look through the property, you will see mowed trails, which are all seeded in clover, but only mowed to keep them clear, so they get frost seeded every couple of years to keep the clover going. They are due. The cow pasture is your typical cow pasture, but it has a huge, super thick area in the center. This stuff is damn near impenetrable, and is loaded with deer tunnels, etc. It has become basically the sanctuary of the property, as nobody wants to mess with the farmer's cattle. The cows are usually taken out of the pasture around mid November, so we do tend to have a few gun stands overlooking the edges of the brush. Last year I killed my buck just on the western edge of the brush.