I gotta ask

Pat Rockets

Seeing on how ethicality is a hot topic..i questioned my own views and actions..is entering deer contests ethical..i mean essentially you get paid to kill..head hunting per say..i myself am guilty of this little pleasure and was surprised when i realized how i feel..i shot that smaller rack 8  and at the start of my vid it says i caved and shot that lil 8..almost disappointed..i think i wont be entering any contests anytime soon..

eyy dont let it get to u. i personally frown upon head hunting. I dont head hunt. But if i know theres a big buck in the area i will go for it. But i mostly deer hunt for the thrill and for the meat. I would love to get a buck though. ONly got a button buck and ive been hunting for 2 years now. I guess its just all in the game tho!

The only contest I enter is the one between me and the deer I'm chasing.  These prize contests seem to take the enjoyment out of hunting altogether.  Most guys are all happy to enter a buck they shot and they're proud of it until someone shows up with a bigger buck.

Just my 2 cents.  Men are by nature competitive and I believe that has a lot to do with it.  Sorry, but if I see a decent buck, I see a lot of meat for jerky, etc.  Everyone does things for their own reason, so I can't fault anybody out there hunting for their own reasons-big racks, meat, etc.  We're all keeping the herd healthy by our actions..

I think the contests bring out the worst in people every year it seems like somebody get caught poaching a big buck to enter in a contest or enter someone elses buck on their tag. Even the pope n young, boone and crocket, ny big buck club  seem to bring out the worst in people, i've taken game that would qualify for these "books"  never entered them. fact is i am happy with whatever i harvest. no contests for me!