archery lessons and practice suggestions

jasons75

So I am just getting into hunting. I would prefer to bow hunt over gun hunt (and not just because my wife has an issue with guns  :D )... I like challenges.

I have a slight problem, I got a chance to do a little shooting last weekend. The few shots I took were dismal at best! I was wondering if someone here can point me to where I could get lessons in or around the Rochester/Greece area. if you can give me a general idea of costs as well that would be great!

I've also been looking into where I can go to practice that is relatively close to Greece. I would prefer to practice in the back yard but apparently i cannot.

I'm less than month away from my move to the NY and want to get started soon after I get there. 

I am sure in your area thee has to be some bow archery pro shop that have indoor range and also some local archery club. Try to find one and ask them for there recommendations. I have been shooting for over 50 years now and enjoy it just as I did as a kid. We all have to learn how to handle the bow, the more you shoot the better you will become. But it sure does help if you have someone that can be your mentor.

I didn't have any archery mentors either when I started about 5 years ago.  The best thing I ever did was join a winter league.  It made me shoot more, it gave me an opportunity talk with other archers, it gave me to see other bows and equipment, and most of all it gave me a chance to work on and develop my form which is sooooo important.

There is a place on Norton Street ---JayVee fish and tackle. they have an indoor range and also run shooting leagues throught the winter. I believe Gander Mountain in Henrietta also has an indoor range but I don't know anything about it.