Photographing your kill

gutpile

I'm no professional when it comes to taking pictures but I've learned a few things. Never take just one picture! With todays digital cameras there's no cost for developing so load up that card you can always delete what you don't like or want. Me I still use film. Take shots from different angles. Get some as close as possible with just your face and the whole of the deers head. Watch the sun you don't want to shoot with the sun directly behind the subject all you get is shadows. Sun at an angle sun behind the camera. move away get the hunter and deer from various angles. don't be afraid to include the bow or put the bloody arrow across the rack. Then shoot some funny shots or artst fartsy types. I generally shoot a whole roll of 36 on one buck. Remember each deer is a once in a lifetime event the next one will be an entirely different experience. Don't fudge it by being frugal.

Someone on another site was offended by pictures of deer showing blood . Some of his advice was quite good but I don't see too many hunters following his take .

Wipe off all blood so it doesn't show

Tuck the deer's tongue in its mouth

Pull the deer's legs up close to its body

I sent him this pic .................

Eddie.... :( ....

I usually take a few pictures of the kill right where it dropped to share with my hunting buddies who aren't offended by the gore...

Then I clean the critter up as Gutpile says and take a few for the more GENTEEL folk, who may be interested but might be turned off by the blood and guts...

This is a perfect example of where ethics does all of us some good. Not everyone is turned on to hunting, and it's our responsibility to 'censor' these images from people who don't necessarily care for it.

For example, my wife is all about the fact that I eat, sleep, and breathe for this sport - but she doesn't want to hear or SEE the details.

Be responsible in who you're showing the 'graphic' pictures to.