Ok I got the coyote to respond back now what

Zag

Fist let me say I'm brand new at this. I took my new FoxPro out for test this am. I started with the rabbit distress call first. Didnt hear or see anything after a few minutes so I switched to some coyote calls and the woods lit up with responses. I stopped and listened to them barking for a minute then hit mine again and they went quiet. I then did the rabbit again and more yote calls and a few more sounded back but I never saw them. So I get a response from them then what should I do?

I wish I could help and answer this for ya. But it seems I suck at coyote hunting! Last year was our first at calling and we did ok but not great with five kills. This year we are 0 for 3 times out. Was out today and hunted six set ups on three properties. Saw a total of two but couldn't get them to come out of the thick stuff and commit, for a shot. Both were singles on different properties. And both seemed to come to a challenge bark/howl. Our best distress calls from e-calls and mouth calls have been ignored. I picked up a light, yesterday. And our next outing will be at night, hoping to change our luck. One thing for sure, if they are hunted, they are no pushover! We have yet to kill one from the same set up twice. So I too, will follow this thread for any tips and advice. 

• Like 3

Zag,
I like to copy whatever they are doing like howling, yipping, challenge, etc. Once they get good and fired up at the presence of other intruder coyotes, they like to go silent on their approach. If it was daylight then I can almost guarantee that they circled to your downwind side.

• Like 4

24 minutes ago, PREDATE said:

Zag,
I like to copy whatever they are doing like howling, yipping, challenge, etc. Once they get good and fired up at the presence of other intruder coyotes, they like to go silent on their approach. If it was daylight then I can almost guarantee that they circled to your downwind side.