new bow hunter

noahmstone

Ok so I am thinking about signing up for a bow hunting safety course in a few weeks. I am 27 and finally giving in to the jealousy of all you other guys that are in the woods a couple weeks earlier than me. I figure if I take the safety course this september I will hopefully be ready to start bow hunting by next september. I have very little experience with archery. I had a cheap compound bow as a kid that I could hit a pizza box with at 10-15 yard and shot long bows at 4 ft targets at about 10 yard in middle school. other than practice practice practice anybody have any tips for me to prepare for next season?

Practice.Drill it into your head that you can only take broadside double lung shots at 20 yds or less (at least for 1st year on the yardage) bows are NOT guns. Do not begin to track a poorly shot deer for at least 6hrs .Practice in awkward positions. If you are going to shoot sitting down practice sitting down.Do not over-bow yourself.( draw length or poundage).Climb a tree. I have shot a lot of deer with my bow off the ground but it seems like it is 10x as difficult. Make sure your bow is sighted in with your broadheads (an out of tune bow will not hit the same point).Practice ...Lol

These are all things that I should have done more of when I 1st started bow hunting.

Have fun , and welcome to the best part of hunting !