Another dumb rifle question

Doc

Ok, bear in mind that I have never shot a deer with anything but a 12 gauge slug, and this is my first year with a rifle. So I am looking at a 12 gauge slug in one hand and my little .270 cartridge in the other, and some obvious questions pop into my head. At 60 yards and under, when I shoot a deer with the shotgun and hit just behind the shoulder, the deer either drops right there or takes off on a dead run for 50 to 100 yards and skids chin first into the dirt. What reaction can I expect when I make the same shot with my .270? Looking at that tiny little hole in the target starts some nasty little questions rolling around in my head. I'm just looking for a bit of first hand experiences from those of you that have taken significant numbers of deer with rifles, particularly with the smaller calibers.

Agree: A good hit...is a good hit, regardless of bullet size. Many deer will be killed with the .223 this year; many, also with the bulky 12 ga. slug.

That said....Of your two guns, 12 ga. and .270: I'd use the 12 ga. where shots will be in the 50-70 yd max range...use the .270 for the long shots. Despite the huge fan base for the .270, it would not be my first choice for a deer rifle.

Well, I know I sure wouldn't want to get hit with the thing, but I guess I'm just getting the pre-season jitters. I hate to mess-with-success, but I just had to get into the rifle thing this year since it's now legal in Ontario County. But as usual, with change comes a bit of uneasiness. Thanks for the reassurances.

Well, I know I sure wouldn't want to get hit with the thing, but I guess I'm just getting the pre-season jitters. I hate to mess-with-success, but I just had to get into the rifle thing this year since it's now legal in Ontario County. But as usual, with change comes a bit of uneasiness. Thanks for the reassurances.

DO NOT SECOND GUESS YOUR CHOICE.  YOU WILL LOVE THE RIFLE!!!!!