Cabela's in Cheek.

hunter49

I went yesterday. First off- its the best outdoors store we have around here. Not lightspeed ahead of gander and perhaps a touch behind Bass Pro (and I am not a bass pro guy). It was the lamest of the cabelas ive seen though(having been to CT, PA, Vi, Mi). Really a setback form what I was used to and hoping for. Prices were high and the selection low. I asked 5 different people for gunpowder and i might as well asked for the secret to cold fusion. Gun selection was good but not as anticipated (again).Was blown away by the crowd especially for a select invite amount. That place was stuffed with people. Many were sightsee-ers. 22s were the big thing- after that it was all over the board. This is not to stir the pot- but I saw at least a dozen crossbows leave in the first hour. Anyone who says they wont be a big part of deer season is off base IMO. Maybe one compound left in that time.

Maybe the new Victor super BPS will be the answer. DOubt F&S is, think Gander is dying but not sure it will hit the small town shops as bad as they fear as the drive to the big city doesnt offer a ton more.

Wow. I have been a customer of Cableas for over 20 years and have had their credit card for about 12 years or so. I haven't received one thing in the mail about this store opening, no flyer or any discount postcard of any kind. I have purchased thousands of dollars in merchandise over the years. I thought the store opened later this week.

I have only been to the Hartford store so I can't compare their other stores.

Honestly, I wish Cabelas had stayed out of New York. Now we have to pay more tax $ on things we enjoy doing!!!!

• Like 1

I thought opening day was the 7th this Thursday? U get in early for being a cabelas credit card holder?

Sunday night was employees and family.  Last night was contractors, local clubs, fireman, LEO. Wednesday is for Visa Card holders. Thursday is opening to the public.