Excercises for holding steady?

loworange88

So aside from shoulder raises, what are some other exercises that I can do to strengthen up the muscles that allow me to hold my bow steady for a longer time? Holding the draw isn't really the issue. Holding the pin steady time after time is. Any input is appreciated.

Edited by loworange88

I would think the best exercise for this would be to just practice with your bow over and over again.

Agreed.  Unfortunately, living in the burbs with neighbors on all sides, and young children....my time to shoot is limited, maybe 1 or 2 times a week if I'm lucky.  Basement and garage are not long enough either, or I'd have a short indoor range.

I learned a few years ago that you don't need to worry about holding the pins steady, just put your pin on the target and then concentrate on just the target, your subconscious mind will put the pin on target. I started practicing this technic and almost instantly my groups improved.

300-500 wide grip pullups.....Sounds IMPOSSIBLE!!!  And, would have no benefit with regard to holding a bow up.  (Let's see....500/week would be 70+/day.....I don't think so!)

I don't see why it wouldn't help.  After all you are using your back and shoulder muscles to draw and hold your bow, unless I am mistaken.

Why is it impossible?  I am 30, work out 5-6 days a week for 15-25 minutes.  We do super sets of 5-10 x 10 sets pull ups followed by push ups (3-4 times a week).  Every Wednesday we do 100 pull ups and 200 push ups with about 10 second brakes between, takes about 25 minutes.  Just because you can't do it, doesn't make it IMPOSSIBLE.  

• Like 2

A pull up to be a pull up must start with both shoulders and elbows fully extended. Then pull up until chin is over the bar ... return to starting position ... and repeat. 100 in 25 minutes while also doing 200 legitimate push ups ... I bet you can't do it ... with me doing the counting!