My Adirondack 8

Buckmaster7600

I parked my truck at 4am and started up the mountain. I had found a spot with a ton of big buck sign last week and I wanted to be in there at daylight to still hunt the swamp. I got back there around 5:45 and sat and had my candy bar "breakfast" and waited until legal light. Once legal light I started my way down into the swamp. About 150yds into my hunt I was in an old clear cut that had a few islands of brush. About 40yds away a doe stood up but didn't run, I knew she had a buck with her but I couldn't find him in my scope. Thank god it was on 1x because I caught movement in my scope and swung on him as he was getting his legs under him to go. As he was getting up I started shooting. He fell down and I couldn't see him anymore. I sat down put a good chew in and waited about a half hr because I knew I hit him well and didn't want to bump him. I went down to the where he was and found good blood, I started on the track and continued to have good blood for a little over a quarter mile. His track lead me to the edge of a beaver pond the he had clearly went into. I couldn't believe he had made it that far as much as he was bleeding and I was baffled when he swam across the pond. After standing on the shore of the pond for a minute scratching my head I heard a crash and a splash on the other side, I couldn't see him so I moved down the back 20 yds and I could see him trying to claw his was up the bank and I put a couple more in him and he rolled back into the pond and tried swimming again but only made it 10yds and died. I was able to get across the pond in the waste deep water with my boots, pants and gun over my head. I got a rope around his head with a stick and got him to shore. I knew he had a huge body and a decent rack but there was absolutely no ground shrinkage! The drag was the worst I have ever had. After I had him gutted I turned on my gps and had a 4 mile drag around the hill or a little over a mile over the hill. So I start