I'm tired of sucking at hunting...

Caveman

I'm 23 and I've been hunting for 3 years now.  In that time I've killed 2 deer, 1 ML and 1 bow, predominantly through blind luck.  I'm the first hunter in my family so I attempted to teach myself which I've learned is not the most efficient way.  So I have a proposition:

Is there anyone who knows how to scout in the Western NY area who would be willing to take me out on a scouting trip for a day and show me what you're looking for, what you're seeing, why you're looking for it, etc.? I'm not looking for a hunting buddy or permission for land, or anything like that.  I'd just like (in the offseason) a hands-on crash course in scouting so I know when I don't kill deer in the future it's not because they're not there.  

I'd be willing to reimburse you with an equivalent amount of labor as instructional time.  I have a good attitude and a strong back so I can split wood, hang signs, move stands, trim lanes, whatever can help you out.   

Also, I know people are weary of strangers these days, and rightfully so given the number of thefts, trespassers, etc.  I'd be willing to meet up for lunch/coffee/beer beforehand to put anyone's mind at relative ease.  Again, no ulterior motives, I just don't want to stagger aimlessly through the woods anymore like a blind squirrel hoping to find a nut.

• Like 1

Where are you located? I think people overthink scouting way too much. Tracks, trails, rubs, scrapes, beds, food and water source. For me if i can find a minimum of some of those then i know im in a decent area. Find em all and usually youve hit the jackpot. 2 deer in three years isnt bad. Heck im on a 2 year drought of zero deer right now. Not because they arent there

Edited by TeeBugg