So this is what it feels like to bowhunt.

Core

Today was my first day of hunting ever for anything. I am new to archery but can hit within a couple of inches at 30 yards at the range. I know many (most?) are better, but this is ample for taking a deer.

I have no stand and was "still hunting" (in double quotes because who knew a single twig can snap 15 times?) state land that I had never scouted. All day long I saw an unreal amount of deer tracks in the mud, including a good amount of fresh scat.

4 hours in I hear a thundering coming in my direction and a doe and its fawn stop 20 yards away in thick brush, probably realize they are running toward what they considered danger, and then run off. Nonetheless I get the chance to nock an arrow and consider that a success for the day.

2 hours after this I crest a hill and to my shock 40 yards off is the back side of a nice size doe. It hasn't seen me, tail is low as he eats behind a small tree. As luck would have it a huge tree is between us, closer to me. I use this tree to shrink our distance to 30 yards, quietly (but not that quietly on the leaves),and this works perfectly due to this incredibly fortuitous tree. I wait about 8 minutes and it gives me a perfect broadside. Easy shot, it's eating food and never knew what was coming. Was not spooked at all, believe me.

I use my 30 yard pin, release, and the arrow skims just over the top of this thing. It bolts 50 yards into the trees, hisses, and I never see it again. My arrow embedded too deep to pull the broad head out, so I had to take the shaft by itself.

It's taking me a few hours to get over this. The odds of still hunting a deer with a bow on the first day out are I think very low, and everything was perfect up until that shot missed. I don't have to tell anyone here how upsetting it is to miss such a shot. It was quite literally a perfect shot anybody here could make, but I didn't.