how did you learn to hunt?

Robhuntandfish

I am mostly a self taught hunter.  Dad taught me to fish for sure , but hunting was mostly on my own.  Learned through just trying it and even some good info from hunting magazines and TV shows (have to weed through to get helpful info). But really didnt grow up with a deer  hunting mentor and there werent really any turkeys back then to say so.  Def learned to turkey hunt from trial and error.  I have mentored a few people for sure throughout the years.  But have to say that I have enjoyed trying to figure out the hunting puzzle as much as the game take itself.  Always been a good problem solver so I think hunting was right up my alley.  

• Like 6

I grew up with a single mom and six siblings. But we lived in a rural area with lots of woods and fields. Those woods and fields were my escape from a very early age.  I can remember seeing deer, and trying to see how close I could sneak up to them! At first they would be gone quickly. But over time, I was able to "almost" touch them, or at least get closer, before they ran off. This worked, and improved with most all the woods critters too.

At 12 years old I started working at the farm down the road, after school, weekends and during the summer. This, shortly after their son was killed in Vietnam. The farmer and his family were very kind to me. I even worked off the purchase price of my first 22 lr from him. The farmer and some of his buddies, who were also farmers, were really into deer hunting, to put meat on the table. But it was always a big deal, when one of them shot a deer with a 'rack'! They would all get together to retell the hunt over and over again...lol. And I would sit on a hay bale and LISTEN to every word. One of his buddies was the father of my lifelong hunting partner.