If You Butcher Your Own Deer.....

Lawdwaz

I've been doing my own butchering since about 1985.  I had a banner season in 1984 and paid a small fortune to a butcher shop in Clarence Center (Hobart's?) to process them.  I was just a young guy that spent most of his money on girls and beer so figured I'd have to learn the trade at some point.

The following September I went out west with 6 other guys and ended up (between us) killing 6 antelope and 6 mule deer and those guys wouldn't dare take an animal to a processor.  Since I was one of the first to score the opening evening of antelope season (on a dink buck) I was going to be butchering some animals!  My buddy Albert showed me the ropes and to say I'm grateful would be an understatement.  With some help from another guy from the group we butchered, wrapped and got all the animals ready for the long ride back.  Dry ice procured locally made for easily transporting back the meat.  I should have mentioned; we drove out in a pick up truck and a huge motor home so getting the goods back was a piece of cake......

So since then I'm sure I've cut up well over 150 deer and a handful of antelope.  Worked some elk and caribou too.  

Over the years I've shown a few friends how I do it (right or wrong, you really can't bung it up too bad) and that makes me happy.  What prompted this thread was a Meat Eater episode I just caught the end of.  Steve Rinella was doing a show on butchering deer and goes further into depth than I do but, like I said, you'd be hard pressed to mess up the deal.  At the end he said how he prefers to use plastic wrap and butcher paper over a vacuum sealer for red meat.  I called my wife out and she watched the end of it with him wrapping the meat up and she said, "huh, just like how we do it".   :)

So.....how did you learn, trial and error or were you fortunate to have a mentor like I did? 

• Like 3